The History of Rockingham Cooperative

Rockingham Cooperative is headquartered in Dayton, Virginia with retail locations in Harrisonburg, Bridgewater, Elkton, Timberville, Woodstock, Monterey, Waynesboro, Stuarts Draft, Verona, Troutville, Wirtz & Strasburg, Virginia. We are retail farm & consumer products stores with a presence in Rockingham, Shenandoah, Augusta, Highland, Botetourt & Franklin counties, while also doing business in 40 states and the District of Columbia.

In November of 2010, Rockingham Cooperative purchased RMC, which included Rocking R Ace Hardware in Harrisonburg, Ace Hardware in Waynesboro, and Rockingham Mill in Dayton.

In early 2014, Rockingham Cooperative purchased Draft Feed & Supply, Stuarts Draft Ace Hardware, & Stuarts Draft Marine. Draft Feed & Supply was moved to the old Marine location and is now located next to its sister store, Rockingham Cooperative ACE Hardware – Stuarts Draft.

In 2015, a merger with Roanoke Cooperative expanded our geography with the addition of retail locations in Troutville and Wirtz serving our members/customers in the Roanoke Valley. Additionally in 2015 we added an Ace Hardware/Farm Supply location in Strasburg, VA expanding our foot print further north in the Shenandoah Valley.

As of January 2019 Rockingham Cooperative acquired Verona Ace Hardware after having a long-standing business relationship with the previous owner. Rockingham Cooperative ACE Hardware – Verona continues their excellent customer service and provides Rockingham Cooperative the opportunity to serve a new geography in Augusta County, Virginia.

Since 1921, Rockingham Cooperative has provided our local communities with high quality goods used in all walks of life and we invite you to visit our stores conveniently located throughout the western part of Virginia. Learn more about the history of Rockingham Cooperative by purchasing “The House Cooperation Built” available at any Rockingham Cooperative location, and visit us here to read through historic newspaper articles, ads, and personal memories that our members have shared as part of our 100th Anniversary celebration.

Mission Statement –

As a farmer-owned cooperative, we serve as a resource to exceed our customer’s expectations, by providing goods and services which enable us to invest in our valued employees, facilities and the community!

Management –


Sam Liggett, CEO

Matt Deitz, COO

Drew Easter, CFO

Teresa Callender, Feed Division Manager

Bill Freeman, ACE Hardware Division Manager

D.J. Myers, Agronomy Division Manager

Stacey Bandell, Director of Human Resources

Yolanda Obaugh, HR Manager

Elaine Morris, Commodities Division Manager

Bill Gardner, Director of Purchasing

Candie Lokey, Controller

Greg Andrew, IT Manager

Adam Ford, Marketing Manager


Board of Directors –

Lowell Wayne Garber, Jr., Augusta County District
John (Jay) Etzler V, Botetourt County District
David Matthews, Franklin County District
Michael S. Humphries, Highland County District
John Knicely, Rockingham County District
Jason A. Bushong, Shenandoah County District
Jerry Burner, At Large District
Charles R. Garber, At Large District
Karl M. Paulson, At Large District
Daniel Hadacek, At Large District
Keith Phillips, Public Director

Officers –

Charles Garber, President
John (Jay) Etzler V, Sr. Vice President
Sam Liggett, Executive Vice President/Asst. Treasurer
Matt Deitz, Vice President
Drew Easter, Treasurer
Brenda R. Allison, Secretary
Stacey Bandell, Assistant Secretary

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This